1. Home
  2. Transparency
  3. Regional Mobility Tax Information

Regional Mobility Tax Information

Updated Apr 30, 2018

In May 2009, the New York State Legislature approved a new regional payroll/mobility tax to provide funding for Metropolitan Transportation Authority operations. The tax affects employers in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District, which comprises New York City and Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Dutchess, Orange, Rockland, and Putnam Counties.

For additional information about this tax, please visit the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance website.